Jun 11, 2008

SriLankan Government dissolves 2 provincial councils

SriLankan Government dissolves 2 provincial councils
North-Central and Sabaragamuwa Provincial Councils
The North Central Province was headed by Berty Premalal Dissanayaka and the Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council was headed by Maheepala Herath before the government took this decision.
According to government sources, in the North Central Provincial Council, the ruling United People's Freedom Alliance (UPFA) currently has only 13 member seats against the opposition represented by the United National Party (UNP) with 10 seats, Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) with 8 seats, and Sri Lanka Muslim Congress (SLMC) with 1 seat.
In the Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council, the UPFA has secured 19 seats against the opposition parties, which include the UNP with 15 member seats, JVP with 10 seats and Ceylon Workers Congress (CWC) with 1 seat. The government says the lack of a simple majority will create difficulties in passing resolutions in the two Provincial Councils.
The main opposition the UNP and firebrand leftist party the JVP yesterday fired fresh salvos separately at the Government for its decision to dissolve two Provincial Councils and go for polls, a move which has triggered a series of allegations.
they also saids that this is an extra expend of public funds and wastage.
The government is doing this without any valid reason to fulfil its irrational desire for power during a time when the people are suffering due to the escalating cost of living.
JVP says they go to courts against dissolving.
UNP says they succesfully faced to the election and win it.


Sadeesh said...

Very nice post
Sri Lanka Tour Package

Post a Comment

Cyber Realm